5 September 2013

Darcy Perry: Blue September 2013 [#398]

My good friend Darcy Perry is in the studio with me to talk about Blue September - a prostate cancer awareness campaign - and about his new album called, Eleven Long Years. Darcy is releasing his entire back catalogue, including two previously unreleased live albums along with his new album thats been five years in the making. Albums will be available for pre-sale from August 23. The release date is Friday, September 6, with digital download/streaming on iTunes, Amazon, Amplifier, Deezer, Google Play, Rdio and Spotify. All proceeds from album sales go to the Prostate Cancer Foundation.

Darcy has lost a father-in-law, a friend, and grandfather to cancer.

“It’s about getting the message out there that it’s OK to go to the doctor. Prostate cancer kills more than 550 men in New Zealand every year. Thousands more are diagnosed – many of them far too late. By going and getting a check-up from the age of 40, you are not only taking responsibility for your own health, you are also ensuring we have communities with more dads, sons, brothers and grandfathers.”

The show starts with an appropriate tune by Muddy Water's son, Mud Morganfield called Health. The message Mud delivers in this song has so much relevance for men today. Listen up! Plus we hear some NEW! tunes off Darcy's newest album, Eleven Long Years. Enjoy!

Episode 398, 4 September 2013

1. Mud Morganfield - Health
2. Fathead - first class Riff Raff
3. Darcy Perry - Walk In The Sun ...NEW!
4. Darcy Perry - We're Going To Get There ...NEW!
5. Darcy Perry - Thursday Blues ...NEW!
6. Darcy Perry - Shine On ...NEW!
7. John Mayer - Call Me The Breeze
8. Darcy Perry - Blues For Earl ...NEW!

Download link for this episode: 398

No comments: