26 April 2019

#690 :: LIVE Recording Wednesday :: Tommy Castro & The Painkillers (24 April 2019)

Whether he’s squeezing out the deepest blues or playing the funkiest soul grooves, legendary blues and soul giant Tommy Castro knows how to ignite a crowd. Over the course of his still-unfolding career, the guitarist, vocalist and songwriter has released 15 albums ranging from horn-fueled soul and R&B to piping hot blues to fiery rock ‘n’ roll. He’s performed all over the world, earning countless fans with his legendary, sweat-drenched, exhilarating live shows. Castro’s band, The Painkillers—bassist Randy McDonald, drummer Bowen Brown  and keyboardist Michael Emerson—have now been playing together over four years. After hundreds of live shows, they have coalesced into one of the telepathically tightest units Castro has ever assembled, making them one of the most in-demand live roots music acts performing today. Billboard says the band plays “irresistible contemporary blues-rock” with “street-level grit and soul.”

With the group seemingly hitting new heights with every performance, Castro knew the time was right to answer his fans’ demands for a live album. Killin’ It–Live captures the band at the peak of their creative and improvisational powers, and features one unforgettable, unpredictable performance after another. “This is the best band we’ve ever had,” says Castro. We really got something going on beyond just being good musicians. Every song we play live now has that right feel—all the dynamics. It allows us to jam out more on stage. Killin’ It–Live is what you hear when you see us live.”

Featuring songs from throughout Castro’s career, Killin’ It–Live was produced by Castro and engineer/songwriter Ron Alan Cohen and recorded at venues in Texas, New York, Michigan and California during 2018. The album includes eight Castro originals spanning his entire career and two Castro-ized covers, each showing a slightly different side of his multifaceted musical personality. From fan favorites She Wanted To Give It To Me and Make It Back To Memphis to newer classics like Lose Lose and Two Hearts to Taj Mahal’s arrangement of Sleepy John Estes’ Leaving Trunk (a song Castro has never recorded before but has been playing live for years), Killin’ It–Live is a nonstop, spirited mix of blues, rock and soul, with rollicking, hypnotic grooves fueled by Castro’s animated, fervent vocals.

1. Make It Back To Memphis
2. Can't Keep A Good Man Down 
3. Leaving Trunk 
4. Lose Lose 
5. Calling San Francisco 
6. Shakin' The Hard Times Loose 
7. Anytime Soon 
8. She Wanted To Give It To Me 
9. Two Hearts
10. Them Changes

20 April 2019

#689 :: Another Belly Fulla Blues with Fatt Max (17 April 2019)

Fatt Max delivers another action packed episode of Belly Fulla Blues. He also includes an interview with Big T and The Dirty Tones who had their album release party last month. Enjoy!

1. John Lee Hooker – Boom Boom 
2. Darcy Perry Band – Just Can’t Help It 
3. Led Zeppelin – You Shook Me 
4. Swamp Thing – Bumping & Grinding 
5. T Bone Walker – 2 Bones and a Pick 
6. Big Daddy Wilson – Deep In My Soul 
7. Big T & The Dirty Tones – C’Mon 
8. Big T & The Dirty Tones – Wasp 
9. Lil Chuck The One Man Skiffle Machine – Whiskey and Ginger 
10. T Model Ford – The Duke 
11. Otis Spann – Got My Mojo Workin’ 
12. Koko Taylor – Never Trust A Man 
13. Eddy Clearwater – Sugar Baby 
14. Katie Henry – Roll Away 
15. Anthony Rosano & The Conqueroos - Bound to You 

11 April 2019

#688 :: Right By My Side Blues Mix (10 April 2019)

No waffle, just an hour of great modern blues.

1 Blues Etilicos - Bulldog
2 Kate Lush Band - Good Good Love
3 Brandon Santini - Evil (Is Going On)
4 Netto Rockfeller feat. Kid Andersen, June Core, Jim Pugh & Whitney Shay - Troubles, Troubles 
5 Rosie Flores - Drive Drive Drive
6 Ray Allen - Girl Crazy
7 Bonita & The Blues Shacks - Southern Girl Northern Boy
8 Raphael Wressnig - One Mo' Time
9 Li'l Chuck The One Man Skiffle Machine - Right By My Side*
10 Stef Paglia - Mistery Heaven
11 Tomiko Dixon - I'm Ready
2 Big Daddy Wilson with Laura Chavez_Deep In My Soul
13 Sugaray Rayford-Somebody Save Me
14 Kai Strauss - This Game Ain't Worth Playing No More

*Artist Spotlight - Li'l Chuck The One Man Skiffle Machine
Li'l Chuck captures a vintage country blues sound you'd swear you were in a 1950's Juke Joint.
Hailing from the UK and currently living in Christchurch, New Zealand, David Thorpe aka Li'l Chuck has been playing music for more than 25 years. His new album, and his third release, 'MONO' features a blues focused, foot-stompin', upbeat array of 14 tracks all recorded in one day in the UK. Li'l Chuck lays down the harmonica, resonator guitar, vocals, kick drum and hi hat all by himself. He is in the truest sense a one man band. It's well worth checking out at: https://www.backyardmusic.co.nz/

7 April 2019

#687 :: Digging Deeper with Fatt Max (3 April 2019)

Fatt Max digs deep in this episode. So many legends here. Enjoy!

Son House - Walking Blues 
Son House - My Black Mama 
Son House - Delta Blues 
RL Burnside - Little Babe 
Charley Patton - Spoonful Blues 
Frank Stokes - Nehi Mama Blues 
William Harris - Bullfrog Blues 
Rube Lacy - Mississippi Jailhouse Groan 
Bo Carter - Corina Corina 
Muddy Waters - I Be’s Troubled 
Blind Willie McTell - Stomp Down Rider 
Mississippi John Hurt - Blue Harvest Blues 
Blind Boy Fuller & Sonny Terry - Fox Chase 
John Williams - Welfare
Bukka White - Pinebluf Arkansas 
Robert Petway – Catfish Blues