18 November 2011

The Blues Room # 304

2120 South Michigan Avenue, home of Chicago’s Chess Records, may be the most important address in the bloodline of the blues and rock ‘n’ roll. That address – immortalized in the Rolling Stones’ like-named instrumental recorded at an epochal session at Chess in June 1964 and included on the band’s album 12 X 5 – serves as the title to George Thorogood’s electrifying Capitol/EMI salute to the Chess label and its immortal artists.

Thorogood has been essaying the Chess repertoire since his 1977 debut album, which included songs by Elmore James and Bo Diddley that originated on the label. He has cut 18 Chess covers over the years; three appeared on his last studio release, 2009’s The Dirty Dozen.
On 2120 South Michigan Avenue, he offers a full-length homage to the label that bred his style with interpretations of 10 Chess classics. The album also includes original tributes to the Windy City and Chess’ crucial songwriter-producer-bassist Willie Dixon, penned by Thorogood, producer Tom Hambridge, and Richard Fleming, plus a crankedup version of the Stones’ titular instrumental.

Produced by Tom Hambridge, three time Grammy nominee, 2010 Grammy winner the album also includes featured guests Buddy Guy and Charlie Musselwhite, also both 2010 Grammy winners!….this is the album George Thorogood was born to make!

The Blues Room, 16 November 2011

1. The Fabulous Thunderbirds - Horsin' Around
2. The Flaming Mudcats - Champagne, Diamonds, and a Fast Car [NZ]
3. The M.O.B (Mick Fleetwood, Steven Tyler, Johny Lang, John McVie) - Sharp Dressed Man
4. George Thorogood and the Destroyers - Going Back
5. George Thorogood and the Destroyers - My Babe
6. George Thorogood and the Destroyers - 2120 South Michigan Avenue
7. George Thorogood and the Destroyers - Two Trains Running (Still A Fool)
8. George Thorogood and the Destroyers - Willie Dixon's Gone
9. Rod Piazza and the All Mighty Flyers - Con-Vo-Looted

To download, right click link and select 'save target as...' MP3 or ZIP

Listen now online!

No comments: